Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 20th, 2008

Welcome Home!

WE GOT HER!

kaylee_welcomehomeKelly the Collie is officially ours ♥

First things first: We’ve decided to change her name. She does respond to Kelly so we’re keeping it close (this poor girl has gone through enough changes in the past few weeks), but just in case that is the name she was given by her original owner (the one who thought it was perfectly alright to confine her to a little cage all alone outside, day in and day out, no matter what the weather) we want it to be something different also.

A new beginning deserves a new name . . .

KAYLEE

kaylee_welcomehome2

We honestly weren’t expecting to bring this beautiful girl home today. Remember, there was supposed to be another family going to meet her tomorrow. A few things happened, however, to set this wonderful result in motion and though I’d rather not dwell on it, the first thing to happen was pretty awful. Just before we got there, Kaylee was attacked by one of the other foster dogs, a big German Shepherd no less, and our poor girl ended out with a bloody, swollen jaw.

Her foster mom was very upset of course, but these things do happen. Dogs will be dogs and, in stressful situations especially, they can be unpredictable.

So now there was the potential for her to be attacked again as long as she remained there, even if just for one more day.

Thank goodness Kaylee didn’t seem overly bothered by her injury and was really quite receptive to me and my husband. She went walking with us, rolled over for tummy rubs, never shying away from us in the least.

For me it was love at first sight. I felt an immediate connection to this dog, and the sort of spontaneous love that can only happen (at least for me) when it comes to animals.

On a fun note, Kaylee’s foster mom and I discovered that we not only grew up in the same town, we went to the same high school. :)

At any rate, after much discussion, it was decided that we would adopt her (sorry other family but I did warn you that she was ours) and for obvious safety reasons we got to take her home TODAY! Good thing, too, because I don’t know how I ever would have walked away from her.

Some details:

  • She’s very small in stature. My other two Collies were on the large (tall) side, so she looks really small to me. One of my grooming clients, however, is a very tiny female Collie and I would put her and Kaylee at about the same size and structure.
  • She’s also a bit underweight, but time — and some good cooking — will put some meat on her bones.
  • Her fur,  lacking any luster at all, had to be shaved because of the dirty, matted condition it was in when she was first rescued. I can feel her undercoat beneath (she wasn’t shaved down that far) and it feels thick with matted areas so I’ll work on that over the next few days and see if I can’t remove the worst of it.
  • She hasn’t been vaccinated or spayed yet (her foster mom had all this scheduled for the week following next) so we’ll have to take care of that.

I’m just so glad, and thankful, that we have her!

More later…

Read Full Post »